Tiny Desert Tortoise Update

dsc00837

April 13, 2009, newly hatched

tiny turtle

September 24, 2009

IMG_0469

October 22, 2009, should be underground

I thought it would be fun to look at the growth of my baby tortoise over the summer.  When I found her in April, I could still see the remainder of the egg sack on her bottom shell. She’s grown quite well over the summer feeding on insects and vegetation in the gardens.  I did see where she was hanging out during the mid-summer and threw a bit of tortoise food in that area.   There was another baby found the same day, but I haven’t see that one since early May.  This one has been a little less skitish each time I found her, and this time she didn’t seem to mind being handled.  Undoubtedly, the cooler weather has reduced her energy level.  As I said in my earlier post, she should be underground by now with the rest of her clan.  I put her in a hole that a larger turtle had abandoned. it goes about 8 or 9 inches into the lawn and has a side tunnel as well.    I don’t want to disturb the hole by looking in, so I will just hope she winters there.   The larger turtles went underground earlier this month.  That’s the end of the 2009 desert tortoise session here.  I always look forward to seeing them in the late-spring. 

 

0 Responses to “Tiny Desert Tortoise Update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

