Desert Tortoise Baby

I was out in my pjs pulling some weeds this morning, and I almost missed this:

tiny turtle

tiny turtle

She was disguised among the stones.  I usually find babies in August that are about 2″ across.  This one is definitely newly hatched.  I can still see where she was attached to the egg sac. 
6 Responses to “Desert Tortoise Baby”


  1. 1 Kathleen April 17, 2009 at 8:49 am

    I didn’t know you had turtles… do you know I do? If you ever want to find a home for any extra you might had… 🙂 I am assuming the is my anonymous friend, Mary E 🙂

    • 2 QuiltZing April 19, 2009 at 7:15 am

      Yep — the very same peeper. I may need to find a good home for some turtles and you’ve got a perfect yard for them. Last summer I counted 10 and I think that is probably too many for the size of my yard. I see one has been eating snails (yea!). I have lots of empty snail shells laying around. Now I’ve found these two new babies. Let me see how many come out in a month or two, and I’ll be glad to bring some out to you. I’m in PA visiting my daughter and her family this week — yesterday was gorgeous and today is cold!

  2. 3 shewhosees April 20, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    What a tiny little thing! Thanks for sharing.

  3. 4 Loretta April 26, 2009 at 1:01 am

    hey! thanks for the link. love you

  4. 6 Charleen May 16, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Nature is so marvelous! I live in northern Minnesota and we have lots of tree frogs in the summer. They are so fun to see hanging on the house walls or behind something on a hot day. It will be a while before they appear but when they do we know summer has arrived.
    I just discovered you and I have tkr in common. Isn’t it great to live at this time?
    Thanks for sharing, love your blog!


Leave a Reply

