Vista vs. Turbo Tax Update

For those of you who land here searching for a solution to problems loading Turbo Tax 2007 on a computer running Vista here’s how I did it. 

I restarted Windows in Safe Mode and then installed Turbo Tax.  I had also disabled Windows Defender and Firewall prior to the restart.  Turbo Tax installed smoothly and then I restarted  Windows normally and enabled Defender and Firewall.  I did my taxes this morning and all went well. 

I’m disappointed that neither Turbo Tax nor Microsoft had this simple solution on their sites — it would have saved me a bunch of frustration.  

Good Luck to you — if it works for you, come back and let me know.

4 Responses to “Vista vs. Turbo Tax Update”


  1. 1 westerly April 9, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    It might be a good idea to re-check the calculations on your returns.

    I also installed Turbo Tax in Vista safe mode, returned to windows and worked the program accordingly. It resulted in a tax liability that was so off as to be ridiculous. Re-doing yielded the same results, so I decided to switch computers.

    The XP machine returned a result that was in line with my expectations. If I’m the only one to experience this, then I’m at a loss to explain why.

    Cheers.

  2. 2 QuiltZing April 10, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Wow! I’ll do that! I’m fairly sure it was correct since I do a spreadsheet calculation of my income/deductions/taxes before using TT, and then reconcile any differences. I appreciate the heads-up.

  3. 3 westerly April 14, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Given that your calcs reconciled, I’m sure your results are ok too.

    Same program, same operating system, two different outcomes… go figure.

    Anyhow, cheers to another year out of the way and best regards.

  4. 4 เสื้อผ้าราคาถูก August 5, 2015 at 10:54 am

    Hi, I do think your website might be having web browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Besides that, wonderful site!


Leave a Reply

