Snow and flowers in Chama, NM

Last summer we spent a few days in Chama;  today’s news is that they have called out the National Guard to clear the snow and the roof of their only grocery store collasped this afternoon. 

It was June when we were there for the Outdoor Quilt Show.  The big draw for me were the  enties for the $100,000 quilt contest which were displayed in the banquet room of a cafe.  One of the enties was “Crazy for Flowers”, a crazy quilt by Allison Aller.  Allison’s blog is one of my favorites, and I just had to get up there to see it.    It was hanging at the entrance to the room, and I just stood there, blocking traffic, as I studied each detail.  It was absolutely fabulous.   You can poke around on her blog and find pictures.   Here’s one of my favorite parts:

cannon-pics-010.jpg

We had about 4″ of snow last night and my back yard looks just about like the picture in the header.  That one was taken in 2006. 

3 Responses to “Snow and flowers in Chama, NM”


  1. 1 Martha February 10, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Jenny’s blog brought me to your blog. What a beautiful crazy quilt square, so colorful. I so much prefer them bright colored than black. My bee is starting to work on a crazy quilt to be auctioned in a Quilt Show here in Austin, Tx. The image above gave me some ideas. It is always nice to see what other quilters are doing.

  2. 2 QuiltZing February 10, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Martha, thanks for visiting. Allison’s work is so beautiful. I really enjoy reading her blog, as she posts day by day, step by step. One thing I’ve learned from her is that these beautiful blocks take weeks to create. I started a crazy block and quickly realized I don’t have enough embellishments to really do it justice. I need to start collecting more stuff! I look forward to seeing how your bee project comes together.
    Mary

  3. 3 Allison Aller February 12, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Well, bless your heart!!!!
    I am so glad you liked my quilt and went to see it.

    You are so lucky you live in Chama. I am passionate about northern NM…my cousin lives in Wagon Mound, and is a board member for the Valle Caldera Preserve, too. I long to go visit…

    Send me an email with your snailmail addy, and I will be happy to send you a “squishy”, what we CQers call a plastic bag with a few bits of embellishment supplies. Tell me colors, too.
    I want to encourage you to try CQ!!

    ~Allie


Leave a Reply

