It’s been a busy….

few days.  Last week was my MIL’s 79th birthday.  She is an amazing person and I sure hope I’m doing that well in 22 years!   Her birthday was on Wednesday, which for most of the extended (non-retired) family is permanently scheduled, so we hosted a family dinner on Saturday.  

For Christmas hubby gave me a smoker.  He loves to eat the final product by has no interest in actually doing the smoking/cooking.  I don’t know why because it’s really easy and fun.  I started a couple of pork shoulders on Friday evening.  By 11:30 pm I was tired of going outside in the freezing cold to mop the meat and tend the wood, so I brought them in, wrapped them in foil and finished them in the oven.  At 2 a.m. I turned the oven off so I could get some sleep and then turned it back on in the morning.  All in all they cooked about 18 hours and by eatin’ time they were tender and delicious.  If you’re interested in learning more about smoking meat visit the SmokingMeatForums.  I had never smoked meat until a few weeks ago when I found that site. 

As the in-coming treasurer for our guild, today I hosted the annual audit of the books.  All went smoothly and I was able to answer the questions posed and find the needed documents.   In another life I used to do audits for a major taxing authority so I knew what to expect, but I have to say I did have a bit of worry about whether I had enough knowledge.  Turned out to be a piece of cake and the prior treasurer had done a great job keeping the books.

It’s great that these two things came in succession — only had to dust once!!  Tonight is a neighborhood potluck in honor of Jean and Phil and then I have the rest of the week “off”.  Phil is on active duty with the Air Force and was stationed here for several years.  I can’t believe it’s been more than three years since they moved to Ohio.  They are visiting for a few days and neighbor Anne volunteered to host the whole neighborhood tonight.  I’m making Corn Dish Bliss (recipe from the SmokingMeatForums) and a cole slaw (recipe also from SMF).     Hubby said he’d cook tonight ????

0 Responses to “It’s been a busy….”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

